Smile on my face

There is not many times in my life where I have felt extremely happy or that I feel I have achieved something extra special.  Social Worker is a battle either to keep families together or to get funding to provide the right service to the young people you work with.  More frustrating than not this is often left by senior managers to the last minute.  However, for me this week I have been given a smile on my face as my faith in Social Work is temporarily restored.  I have found out that my wife who has been studying Social Work for the past three years has a job in her service area.


Over the past two and a bit years I have met many Social Work students of varying degrees of competence.  For those that are really good the battle is the same for those who will get there.  Finding work! The Social Work course rightly so, is not easy and it try’s to make you think long and hard about decisions you make.  It does not however make you employable so here is the risk that many student face wanting to take those first steps into statutory Social Work.  So with every assignment completed and every placement completed the worry is there – will there be a job at the end of the course? And for every student reading this I can understand this worry.  For going into Social Work is not just about wanting to work with people, it is more than this.  It is a passion about working and supporting vulnerable people.  Despite the negative press Social Workers are always doing more and more than what is practical and manageable to ensure the people they are working with get a service.

So although this is a small thing thing for me, for my wife and many other student social workers passing the degree in Social Work is not a small thing.  There have been many sacrifices, late nights and tears and finally on the home run despite all the work that is still left.  There is light at the end of the tunnel!


Leave a Reply

