River boat

 

Social work can be like a slow boat, slowly chugging along the river, all big and bulky with lots of people trying to make the boat get to where it is meant to be going.  Every now and again it is felt that this is all wrong and rather than change the boat and the purpose of the vessel to save money their seems, instead to be a more ruthless practise of either asking people to jump or more unceremoniously pushed.

Like many professions change is inevitable and often good, after all social work practise has had to change and helpfully in line with the Jubilee, Community Care show the past 60 years of social work here.

Similarly when change happens some skills are lost along with knowledge, and for many professions the idea that knowledge is held within social work is a new concept.  With a degree and masters degree and more social workers being able to undertake research into neglect, abuse, domestic violence, family placements and like me Age Assessments and many other social issues, this knowledge base is growing bigger.

So with change comes a lot of positivity, and a wake up call for all social workers and social work managers that our learning never stops.  In order to support families a better understanding of culture and modern culture is needed.  Social Workers need to be able to respond to crisis with an up to date understanding of family life and how social media affects and impacts on social relationships and abuse.

I am excited about social work and how I can be involved in shaping the future of it.  Although this is slowly within my work place, each day I challenge some of those older views.  Each day I learn something new that makes me read more, not that this will help me understand but it will allow me to be better prepared.

I will not see the manager that gave me my first social work job again, but I will not forget the gift I was given with my first job.  I will not forget the lesson that even with many years of social work that change is not needed so rather than me being changed I will continue to adapt my practise to fit Social Work, because the change I want to make is for the young people to achieve the outcomes they want.

 

picture credit to: en.wikipedia.org

2 responses

  1. luke bastiani | Reply

    Like the analogue,feels apt for the profession. Often I hear my fellow social work students asking “what do I need to read up on?” The thing is as long as the source is reliable then any information/research is useful,specially when we highlight holistic, relationship-based,individualistic, unitary practise so highly. Guess what I’m trying to say is that indepth knowledge in different social issues is very useful,bt by its nature,this knowledge is transferable to other situations. I have even suggested to fellow colleagues to pick up a history book or even philosophy texts as it can give you insight in certain cultures and societies,industries and businesses, thought processes and political agenda. It all adds up.
    It obvious you enjoy your work,which is a pleasure to see/read. I’ve met quite a few trained/training social workers who are cynics and do not believe change will occur,the irony being that their cynism and lack of action reinforces the lack of change. In my eyes social work is very much a lifestyle and only through embracing a want to continually develop ones self and challenge society and its structures will you receive what you want from it.
    Sorry I have waffled,your piece has put some life back in to my passion,so I guess thank you and have a good day! 🙂

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment!, it is true that your reading does need to be broad in order to truly understand life and perhaps other people view it. I also think it is important for research from social workers to be completed to allow society to understand the complexities of our work, after all there is never a straight answer!

      Thank you again :0)

Leave a Reply

